2003 Lawrence Tuczynski

Title Rebirth Of Mothra
Japanese Title Mosura
Movie also known as: Mothra
CD Label ADV Music
CD Number CD/006
Music by: Toshiyuki Watanabe
Additional Music by: Yuji Koseki & Akiko Yano,
with vocal performances by Megumi Kobayashi & Sayaka Yamaguchi.
Number of tracks 21
Running time 47:43
Number of discs 1
Year of release/manufacture 1996
Year Movie Released in U.S. VHS Tape - Aug. 3, 1999
DVD: Double DVD, Columbia/Tri-Star #04691, Feb. 2000
Also has 1997 "Rebirth Of Mothra II"


This is the ADV Music U.S.release of the soundtrack to the first of the latest Mothra movies known in the US as "The Rebirth Of Mothra". These movies are geared more towards children than kaiju loving adults but I still enjoyed the movie.

The music here is great and in my opinion surpasses the movie it's for. We no longer have twin fairies but instead have fairy sisters known as the Elias. Most of this score features grand, really upbeat action music and marches. Track # 5 is a very new, upbeat version of the original Mothra song sung by the Elias. Track # 9 gives us a new more mellow tribute song to Mothra also sung by the girls. There is also a nice, romantic sounding recurring Mothra theme sprinkled throughout the CD.

While this CD won't make you forget the Akira Ifukube originals, Toshiyuki Watanabe has done a really nice job of scoring this movie and giving us a very listenable CD that holds up well as a stand-alone piece. Also ADV Music has done a very nice job with this U.S. release. If you don't have or can't get the original Japanese disc, then this is a great and affordable alternative.

For additional great reviews by Jeff Berkwits of this Mothra disc, go to: http://www.scifi.com/sfw/issue379/sound.html

Rebirth Of Mothra
  1. Main Title
  2. Super High Speed Battle
  3. The Beginning of the Great Journey
  4. The Guardian Goddess of the Beautiful Star
  5. The Mothra Song
  6. Battle of Sixty-Five Million Years Ago, Revisited
  7. Evil Beast of Destruction
  8. Pray with Me
  9. The Song of Prayer
  10. The Will of the Larvae
  11. The Battle with the Enemy of Life
  12. Get Back to the Ocean
  13. The Song of Prayer (Instrumental)
  14. Mothraleo
  15. Emergence of a Saint
  16. Birth of the New Mothra
  17. Fight! In Order to Protect
  18. Sealed Away
  19. The Instant of Life
  20. Forever Friends
  21. End Title