2008 Lawrence Tuczynski

Title Band Collection
CD Label BMS Editions
CD Number BECD-0001
Music by: Libera Wind Symphony
Music conducted by: Shigeru Fukuda
Recorded: December 7 & 23, 2003
Number of tracks 17
Running time 71:04
Number of discs 1
Year of release/manufacture August 15, 2004

REVIEW August 10, 2008

This CD is a self released CDR Promo. It contains a collection of symphonic works from as early as 1869 to as late as 1995. This CD is included here because the first track is the great and familiar "Symphonic Fantasia No. 1" by Akira Ifukube. It is done very well here by the Libera Wind Symphony. The rest of the symphonic and movie pieces on this disc are also great sounding and fun to listen to. This CDR is most likely out of print or unavailable but it almost the same as Band Collection Vol. 1 (2004-2005) also on this site. The web site for this company is http://www.bmseditions.com/.

Band Collection
English track translations courtesy of Jolyon Yates

  1. Symphonic Fantasia No. 1 (1983) - Akira Ifukube
  2. Fantasia On British Sea Songs (1905) - Sir Henry Wood
  3. Danse Diabolique (1904) - Joseph Hellmesberger Jr.
  4. Music from "Things To Come" (1936) - Arthur Bliss

  5. Prologue
  6. Interlude - The World in Ruins
  7. The Building Of The New World
  8. Attack On The Moon Gun
  9. Epilogue
  10. Fontane di Roma, Poema sinfonico (1917) - Ottorino Respighi

  11. La fontana di VilleGiulia all'alba:Andante mosso
  12. La fontana del Tritone al mattino:vivo
  13. La fontana del Trevi al meriggio:Allegro moderato
  14. La fontana di Villa Medici al tramonto:Andante
  15. Is Paris Burning (1995) - Takashi Kako
  16. BALLET SCORE 'DON QUIXOTE'(1869) Ludwig Minkus / Kukaku Kondo

  17. Gypsy Dance
  18. Basilio and Two Girls Pas de Trois
  19. Magical Garden
  20. Csardas [Hungarian folk dance]