2005 Lawrence Tuczynski

Title Ultraman (Original Soundtrack)
(aka Ultraman Next)
CD Label Vermillion Records, Inc., Japan
CD Number BMCV-8015
Music by: Takahiro Matsumoto
Number of tracks 26
Running time 56:37
Number of discs 1
Year of release/manufacture July 20, 2005


November 14, 2005
Review courtesy of Larry Tuczynski

I was looking around on the CD Japan site looking for something new to add to this site when I ran across this soundtrack CD. I took a chance and ordered it and am happy I took a chance. The CD has 26 tracks and clocks in at just under an hour. The CD contains a good mix and variety of styles of instrumental music with a few vocal tracks thrown in. Some tracks are your typical action/adventure type songs while a few others are slower. However what really reached out and took me by surprise was that several of the tracks have a definite heavy metal flavor to them and they kick ass. If you look up Takahiro Matsumoto (also know as Tak Matsumoto) you'll find several CD's listed for him. I believe this is the first I've ever listened to but if it's a good example of his style than the others are probably pretty good too. In fact after two playings of this CD it seems to keep growing on me. If the Godzilla franchise gets resurrected, it might not be a bad idea for Takahiro Matsumoto to throw his hat in the ring for doing the soundtrack.

Ultraman (Original Soundtrack)

Track translations courtesy of TokyoMonsters.com

  1. Introduction
  2. Theme Of Ultraman
  3. Maki's Theme
  4. Next's Theme
  5. Maki's Departure
  6. Days Of Youth
  7. BCST Theme - Mother One's Theme
  8. The Oppressive Horror
  9. The One's Theme
  10. Next's Flight
  11. Madness
  12. NEVER GOOD-BYE (performed by TMG)
  13. Sara's Theme (Night Arrangement)
  14. Sara's Decision
  15. Take Off
  16. Maki's Theme - Getting High
  17. Next's Theme (Battle Arrangement)
  18. Maki's Theme - Aerial Battle
  19. Nightmare
  20. Emergency
  21. Street Of Destruction
  22. The Evil Spreads It's Wings
  23. Next Battles
  24. Climax Arrangement
  25. Maki's Theme - Fate
  26. Maki's Theme - To The Sky