2007 Lawrence Tuczynski

Title FINAL YAMATO - Complete Symphonic Suites
CD Label Nippon Columbia Co., Ltd.
CD Number COCC-12233~35
Music by: Hiroshi Miyagawa
Performed by: Symphonic Orchestra Yamato
Number of tracks Disc 1 - 10
Disc 2 - 13
Disc 3 - 11
Running time Disc 1 - 44:48
Disc 2 - 51:18
Disc 3 - 40:36
Number of discs 3
Year of release/manufacture January 01, 1995


February 02, 2007

For a three disc set the running times on these CD's come up a bit short. This easily could have been spread over two discs rather than three. The three CDs here were at one time released as separate albums, and therefore contain some duplicate titles and scores.

Disc 1 is a nice sounding disc with a variety of tempos but many seem to have a 1970's disco feel to them.That's not a bad thing except for making the disc sound a bit dated. The non disco flavored symphonic tracks are really nice and shine, especially on Disc 2 where some of the same themes from Disc 1 are repeated but done slightly different. The fast, action tracks on Disc 2 were especially catchy. I didn't detect any disco flavored tunes on Disc 2 but there were a couple of tracks that reminded me of circus music. Some of the tracks from disc 2 are reprised on disc 3. Disc 3 is the shortest as far as running time and probably has the most tracks that are mostly mellow. There are a couple of fast tracks but the majority are slow, meandering themes. They do sound nice and put you in a relaxed mood.

Of the three discs in this set I probably enjoyed Disc 2 the most because of the variety of tempos, the action music and not sounding dated like the 1st disc. Overall a nice set and worth having if you are a Yamato fan.

FINAL YAMATO - Complete Symphonic Suites

    Disc 1

  1. Aquarius - Planet Of Water
  2. Aquarius - 4.5 Billion Years
  3. Yamato's Pathetic Sortie
  4. Lugal Jr.'s War
  5. Yuki
  6. History Of The Uruku
  7. The Battle Of Pluto
  8. Planet Deingil
  9. Fight! Cosmo Tiger
  10. Aquarius: Planet Of Mystery

    Disc 2

  1. Two Galaxies
  2. Planet Deingil Drowns
  3. Mobil Fortress
  4. Hyper-Radiation Missile
  5. Great Devil
  6. Final Yamato
  7. Sorrow
  8. Gigantic Battleship "Garnvoist"
  9. Yamato and Me (Kodai)
  10. Unfortunate Deingil Boy
  11. Two in the Cosmo Zero
  12. Aquarius Requiem
  13. Symphony Of Aquarius

    Disc 3

  1. The Neutrino Beam Miracle
  2. Final Yamato Battle
  3. Yamato and Me (Kodai)
  4. Deingil Boy's Theme
  5. Yamato Escapes
  6. Okita and Kodai
  7. Drowning Of Planet Deingil
  8. Leader Lugal's Battle
  9. Yuki's Theme
  10. Shima Daisuke's Theme
  11. Aquarius Requiem II