Slipcase Cover

CD 1 Cover (COCX-31157) CD 2 Cover (COCX-31158)

2007 Lawrence Tuczynski

Title: Space Battleship Yamato Eternal Edition File No. 5 & 6
aka Title: Space Battle Ship Yamato Forever (COCX-31157)
Space Battle Ship Yamato The New Voyage (COCX-31158)
CD Label: Nippon Columbia Co., Ltd.
CD Number: COCX-31157~8
Music by: Katsuo Ohno (Composer)
Hiroshi Miyagawa (Conductor)
Isao Sasaki (Artist)
Chiyoko Shimakura (Artist)
Joe Hisaishi (Arranger)
Number of tracks: Disc 1 : 33
Disc 2 : 27
Running time: Disc 1 - 75:56
Disc 2 - 73:40
Number of discs: 2
Year of release/manufacture: December 30, 2000


January 12, 2007

This is the second in the series of recent Space Cruiser Yamato "Eternal Edition" soundtrack CDs. Some of these are sold as two-disc sets (like this one), and others are single discs. Even when sold as two-disc sets, each disc is numbered separately. This set contains what are known as Eternal Edition Files #5 and #6. This 4th volume in the "Yamato Eternal" series couples "Aratanaru Tabidachi (Yamato: The New Journey) - 1979" with "Yamato yo towa ni (Be Forever, Yamato) - 1980". Contained are symphonic suite "Shin Yamato", with additions of new versions of "Jido wakusei Gorba (Planet Gorba)" and "Shin Ginga Tanjo (A Galaxy is born)", and more, including previously unpublished BGM tracks.

File #5 (COCX-31157) has some really nice instrumental pieces. Track 5 reminded me of music you might find in old U.S. cartoons while track 6 is a male vocal track. Most of the music is somewhat on the mellow side but there are a few action pieces. For the most part this is a nice relaxing disc to listen to with some very lovely music.

File #6 (COCX-31158). I found disc 2 to be somewhat similar to disc 1 except that it seemed to contain more action and march pieces. Track 13 is a nice sounding male vocal track. Several of the themes get a bit repetitive on this disc.

Space Battleship Yamato Eternal Edition File No. 5 & 6
English track titles courtesy of Jolyon Yates

    Disc 1 (COCX-31157) / File 5

    Space Battle Ship Yamato Forever

  1. Opening
  2. Main Title ~ Tablet of Respect for Yamato
  3. Hero's Hill
  4. Yamato Meditation ~ Joined in Great Love
  5. Prelaunch tension
  6. Yamato!! New Voyagers (TV size)
  7. Young Eagle Elite [not sure about this one; literally, 'Young Great Eagle Achieve']
  8. Outer Space Opens into the Infinite
  9. Deslar Recollection
  10. Invaders
  11. Deslar Attack
  12. Planet Gamilas Extinction
  13. Black Nebula Empire
  14. New Cosmo Tiger
  15. Tsumpa March
  16. Peace of Mind
  17. Wandering Iscandar ~ Abide by Stasha
  18. Trial
  19. Deslar Alone
  20. Yamato Arrival
  21. Big Battle
  22. Iscandar's Crisis
  23. Reunion
  24. Self-propelled Planet Gorba
  25. Gorba's Threat
  26. Deslar's memory
  27. Abide by Stasha
  28. Separation
  29. Sasha my Love (TV size)
  30. Bonus Tracks from Space Battleship Yamato: The New Voyagers

  31. Space Battleship Yamato
    Outer Space Opens into the Infinite
    Space Battleship Yamato
  32. Old Enemy
    Worthy Opponent
    White Comet
    Search Boat
  33. Memories
    Traces of a Planet
    From Yamato with Love
  34. The New Voyagers
    Love Life
    Yamato!! The New Voyagers

    Disc 2 (COCX-31158) / File 6

    Space Battle Ship Yamato The New Voyage

  1. Prologue, Quiet Invasion
  2. Heavy Nuclear Bomb Movement Begun
  3. Surprise Paratrooper Attack
  4. Dark Nebula Empire
  5. Unmanned Annihilator Squadron
  6. Lovematch Couple
  7. Wounded Soldiers
  8. Escape
  9. Disappointed Love
  10. 2nd Lt Alphon
  11. Heavy Nuclear Bomb
  12. Our Yamato
  13. Star Pendant (movie version)
  14. Sasha, Happiness
  15. Yamato Enters Unknown Space
  16. Black Galaxy
  17. Sasha's Memory
  18. Dark Nebula
  19. Double Galaxy
  20. Earth 200 Years Later
  21. Giant Warship Grodeze
  22. Fateful Showdown ~ 2nd Lt Alphon & Yuki
  23. Mother Planet (Dezarium) Collapse
  24. Dezarium Counterattack
  25. Yamato Charges In
  26. Rock Crystal Cities ~ Sasha, Farewell
  27. A New Galaxy Is Born