2006 Lawrence Tuczynski

Information courtesy of John M Emmons

Title Ultraman Max Original Soundtrack Volume Two
CD Label Columbia Music Entertainment
CD Number COCX-33551
Music by: Kuniaki Haijima
Number of tracks 33
Running time 43:22
Number of discs 1
Year of release/manufacture February 22, 2006


Review by John M Emmons

August 28, 2006

The second volume of Ultraman Max music starts off with the title music, and, as far as I could tell, it's no different than the version presented at the end of volume one. The album starts off with some nice action/suspense pieces. I especially liked track four; with its low brass, it sounded very Godzilla-esque. But a majority of the pieces are quiet by nature and very melodic.

This album is mainly symphonic pieces, which I can tell is more of Haijima's strong point anyway. There's a couple new variations on the Ultraman Max theme (track 13 in particular), but the DASH theme is missing completely. There are also two upbeat instrumental versions of the title song, followed by a song by Bad Scanners, who guest-starred in one of the episodes.

I like listening to this relaxing album, but with both Volume One and this second volume only roughly 80 minutes of music combined on the two CDs, it isn't as comprehensive as a collection that were made for Cosmos or Nexus.

Ultraman Max Original Soundtrack Volume Two
Track information courtesy of Jolyon Yates.
  1. Ultraman Max (TV size) performed by Team Dash with Project DMM
  2. Ultraman Max 2
  3. Monster Heaven
  4. Come Here
  5. Galaxy Sword
  6. Secret battle
  7. Hello
  8. Trapped Space
  9. I Want to Go back
  10. The Storm has Come
  11. Doughnut Hole
  12. Defence Guard Planet
  13. Max in the Light
  14. Eria JAA 799
  15. Spaceman
  16. Copernicus
  17. Year 2076
  18. Something Lost
  19. Starship
  20. Max Touch
  21. I'm Back
  22. From the Earth?
  23. Antenna
  24. Who Are You?
  25. I Am I
  26. What?
  27. Bamba Lucia
  28. I Want to See the Clear Sky
  29. Oneself
  30. Astronomical Observatory
  31. Ultraman Max ~ Arrangement A
  32. Ultraman Max ~ Guitar B
  33. Not So Bad performed by Bad Scanners