2008 Lawrence Tuczynski

Scans & info provided by John M Emmons

Title Ultra Sound Dendo Series Volume 1: Ultra Q
CD Label Columbia Music Entertainment, Inc.
CD Number COCX-33796
Music by: Kunio Miyauchi
Number of tracks 24
Running time 70:53
Number of discs 1
Year of release/manufacture July 26, 2006


January 21, 2008

Review by John M Emmons

According to CD Japan, the "Ultra Sound Dendo Series" is a series of re-released soundtracks to celebrate the 40th anniversary of Ultraman, combining previously released tracks with rare tracks. There have been nine volumes released.

The music featured on this album is more mysterious and eerie than the lighthearted music associated with Miyauchi's Ultraman soundtrack, though it does have a couple songs sung by children. My favorite track is the main theme, which consists of a simple guitar riff with backing brass. This theme is occasionally hinted at in a number of variations throughout the album.

Unfortunately, this is my first Ultra Q album, so I cannot compare this release with previous ones, but with over an hour of music, there's plenty for new and old fans to listen to.

Ultra Sound Dendo Series Volume 1: Ultra Q
English track title translations courtesy of John Emmons

  1. Main Title
  2. Prologue
  3. Theme 1 (Ultra Q Theme M-2)
  4. Defeat Gomesu!
  5. Peguila Has Come!
  6. Fear of Ice
  7. Grow! Turtle
  8. Underground Super-Express to the West
  9. Barunga
  10. I Saw A Bird
  11. Melody of Destruction
  12. Tokyo Ice Age
  13. Kanegon?s Cocoon
  14. Garamon?s Counterattack
  15. The Rainbow Egg
  16. Underwater Hominid Ragon
  17. Theme 2 (Ultra Q Main Theme (Edit Version))
  18. Transformation
  19. Rage of the South Seas
  20. Burn on, Glory
  21. The Collapse of A Large City
  22. Statue of Goga
  23. Song of Giant Monster
  24. Ultra March