2004 Lawrence Tuczynski

Title Godzilla
Japanese Title Gojira
Movie also known as: Godzilla: King Of The Monsters
CD Label Toho Music Corporation
CD Number G-001
Music by: Akira Ifukube
Number of tracks 27
Running time 46:23
Number of discs 1
Year of release/manufacture September 20, 2004
Year Movie Released in Japan 1954
Year Movie Released in U.S. 1956
DVD Released in U.S. May 1998, SIMITAR #7473
Both Widescreen and Pan & Scan versions plus Dolby Digital 5.1 sound


October 24, 2004

The first disc in this set is probably one of my favorites. The music in this soundtrack marked my introduction to the music of Akira Ifukube and the earlier Futureland version TYCY-5345 was the first Godzilla CD I bought. As far back as I can remember and based on what my parents told me I always loved music and would always be listening to the radio. This love of music also carried over into films and I could appreciate how the film and music complimented each other. Maestro Ifukube's music and style caught my attention the first time I heard it and introduced me to many favorite themes he would reuse in other forms in various other Japanese movies.

The re-mastering on this disc brings out subtleties not heard previously. Also here the 1st track starts out with the now familiar Godzilla foot steps and on this disc the 1st track seems to be a combined version of the first two tracks on the Futureland release. The bonus tracks on this disc are tracks 24 - 27. Track 24 is an alternate take on Godzilla's footsteps and roars. Track 25 contains some film dialogue along with music, footsteps and sound effects. Track 26 has sound effects from the city traffic, music from a night club, footsteps and people screaming and running away. Track 27 is dialogue mainly.


  1. Main Title (M2 + M1)
  2. Eiko-maru Sinking (M3)
  3. Bingo-maru Sinking (M4)
  4. Uneasiness on Odo Island (M5)
  5. Ritual Music of Odo Island (M6)
  6. Storm On Odo Island (M7.T1)
  7. Frigate March 1 (M11)
  8. Odo Island Theme (M9)
  9. Godzilla Appears on Odo Island (M10)
  10. Horror In The Water Tank (M13)
  11. Shinagawa Pandemonium (M14+M7T1)
  12. Attack Godzilla ! (M16)
  13. Godzilla Comes Ashore (M14)
  14. Fury Of Godzilla (MA')
  15. Deadly Broadcast (MB)
  16. Godzilla To Tokyo Bay (MC)
  17. Repel Godzilla! (M1)
  18. Devastated Tokyo (M19)
  19. Oxygen Destroyer (M20)
  20. Prayer For Peace
  21. Frigate March II (M21)
  22. Godzilla Under The Sea (M22)
  23. Ending (M23)
  24. Bonus Tracks

  25. Main Title ~ Footsteps & Cries (M2)
  26. Storm On Odo Island
  27. Pleasure Boat Music
  28. Radio Music