1999 Lawrence Tuczynski

Title War Of The Gargantuas
Japanese Title Furankenshutain no kaij: Sanda tai Gaira
Movie also known as: Frankenstein's Monsters: Sanda vs. Gaira (literal English title)
Duel of the Gargantuas
Adventure of Gargantuas:Sanda vs. Gailah
Frankenstein's Monsters: Sanda vs. Gailah
CD Label Futureland / Toshiba EMI Japan
CD Number TYCY-5505
Music by: Akira Ifukube
Number of tracks 44
Running time 67:14
Number of discs 1
Year of release/manufacture 1997
Year Movie Released in Japan 1966
rerelease 1971
Year Movie Released in U.S. 1970


May 10, 2000

The CD is mostly made up of mid-tempo marches and themes with a few slower tunes scattered about. The marches are variations of ones we've heard in many other Toho films by Akira Ifukube. The music here is very good and fun to listen to but I feel works much better in the film than as stand-alone listening. The reason for that is that the marches and main themes get repeated far too often on this CD for my tastes. After awhile it gets a little boring. Track # 12 is a nicely done female vocal of a love song with guitar accompaniment. Tracks # 1 through # 30 are from the film. Tracks # 31 through # 40 are alternate takes with Tracks # 35 through # 38 being four different vocal variations of the same song. Track # 39 is a female singing "Yankee Doodle" in Japanese and track # 40 is an instrumental karaoke number. Tracks # 41 through # 43 are sound effects while the final track, # 44, is audio from the films trailer.

The music here is very good and the CD worth owning if you don't mind the repetitious nature of the themes and marches.

U.S. Title:      War Of The Gargantuas
Japanese Title:  Furankenshutain no kaij: Sanda tai Gaira

Toho Kaiju Eiga Senshu 8:  
Toho Monster Movies:  Special Collection #8

1.	Main Title
2.	Giant Octopus:  The Devil of the Sea
3.	Terror of the Stormy Seas
4.	The Marine Safety Agency
5.	The Tragedy of the Kaijinmaru 3
6.	Akemi's Memories
7.	Green Gargantua at the Ocean Bottom
8.	Terror at Miura Peninsula
9.	Frankenstein's Cells I
10.	Footprints in the Snow-Covered Valley
11.	Emergency at Haneda Airport
12.	Feel In My Heart
13.	Operation L - March I
14.	Operation L - March II
15.	Wiring Complete
16.	Operation L  March III
17.	Operation L  March IV
18.	The Appearance of Brown Gargantua
19.	Brown Gargantua and Green Gargantua
20.	Frankenstein's Cells II
21.	Brown Gargantua and Akemi
22.	Brown Gargantua's Rage
23.	Green Gargantua Flees
24.	Green Gargantua Comes Ashore
25.	Brown Gargantua Heads to Tokyo
26.	Brown Gargantua vs. Green Gargantua I
27.	Attack Green Gargantua!
28.	Brown Gargantua vs. Green Gargantua II
29.	Battle to the Death at the Volcano on the Ocean Floor
30.	Ending

Other Takes:  Collection of Edited Songs
31.	M12T1
32.	New M14
33.	New M19
34.	M26RR  Edited portions
35.	Birthplace I  PS-182 Chorus T3
36.	Birthplace II  PS-182 Solo T2
37.	Birthplace III (End)  PS-183 T1
38.	Birthplace IV (End)  PS-183 T2
39.	10,000 Feet In The Alps  (End)
40.	PS  Brown Gargantua  Karaoke

Sound Effects
41.	The Voice of Green Gargantua
42.	Sound of the Maser Beam Firing
43.	The Voice of Brown Gargantua
44.	"War of the Gargantuas" - Preview Version