© 2002 Lawrence Tuczynski

CD Label King Record Co., Ltd.
CD Number KICC-377~8
Music by: Akira Ifukube
Number of tracks Disc 1 - 4
Disc 2 - 11
Running time Disc 1: 39:23
Disc 2: 51:34
Number of discs 2
Year of release/manufacture 8-22-2002


October 11, 2002

This is a great two disc live set that has many conductors paying tribute to Mr. Ifukube on his 88th birthday. Of the two discs, both myself and others have found disc 1 to be the more accessible of the two. Disc 1 is full of great music we have heard before and sounds great here. Disc 2 starts off with a bang and the music in the first few tracks would be right at home in an action packed outer space soundtrack. Where disc 2 loses it for me is when we get to track 8. From this track on we are treated to the vocals of soprano Ruri Usami. It sounds too much like opera to me and is something I personally don't find enjoyable. However if you're a fan of opera type music then the you may enjoy the whole second disc.

Overall I would still recommend this CD to others. The live tracks here jump off the CD and sound terrific. My receiver has a "concert hall" mode to add to the ambiance and this recording sounded wonderful in that mode and made me feel like I was sitting in the audience.

Translations courtesy of Jolyon Yates

Disc 1

    Akira Ifukube: Sinfonia Tapkaara
  1. 1st Movement: Lento molto-Allegro (12:25)
  2. 2nd Movement: Adagio (9:40)
  3. 3rd Movement: Vivace (7:56)
  4. Symphonic Fantasia No.1 (excerpts) 1954, revised 1983 (8:30)

Disc 2

    Akira Ifukube's 88th Celebration (Four Dances)
  1. Maki Ishii: Fan Dance (5:10)
  2. Riichiro Manabe: Spirit Raising Dance (4:00)
    (Note: The first two kanji are 'spirit' and 'plant', and 'tamafuyu' may be the name of a specific flower)
  3. Minoru Miki: May Dance (3:20)
  4. Shigeyuki Imai: Eternal Dance (5:48)
  5. Akira Ifukube: Triptyque aborigene: Three tableaus for chamber orchestra
    Tracks 5-11 are inspired by the Ainu people

  6. I: Payses: Tempo di jimkuu (3:20)
  7. II: Timbe: Nom Regional (2:31)
  8. III: Pakkai: Chant d'Aino (5:30)
  9. Ancient Mysteries of the Gilyak Tribes (1946)
    Performed by The New Symphony Orchestra

  10. Ai Ai Gomteira (2:11) conducted by Maki Ishii
  11. Moss-Peach Picking Woman's Song (7:44) conducted by Riichiro Manabe
    (Note: The first two kanji are 'moss' and 'peach' and there's probably a proper name for this fruit)
  12. The River Over There (4:59) conducted by Toru Sakakibara
  13. Song of Those Going to the Bear Sacrifice Ceremony (4:55) conducted by Shigeyuki Imai

Recorded live at Kioi Hall, Sunday May 19 2002, soprano Ruri Usami