2002 Lawrence Tuczynski

Title The Peanuts Singles - Koi No Vacances
CD Label King Record Co., Ltd.
CD Number KICS-2299/300
Music by: The Peanuts (Emi & Yumi Ito)
Number of tracks Disc 1: 17
Disc 2: 17
Running time Disc 1: 51:40
Disc 2: 48:11
Number of discs 2
Year of release/manufacture 05-28-1999


April 26, 2002

This second 2 CD set is made up of more singles put out by The Peanuts. Disc 1 contains the "A" sides and Disc 2 contains the "B" sides. This is the way all 4 volumes are handled. There are no songs here from "Mothra" but there are some nice covers of US tunes that are done a little differently from the originals. Despite having 1 track fewer on each disc than Volume 1, the discs clock in slightly longer than the first volume.

I have always enjoyed the singing and harmonies of these women in the "Mothra films which is why I sought out more CD's by them. The songs on this CD are a mixture of Japanese, Japanese with some English, some English and possibly a few other languages. I find their music fun and relaxing to listen to and some of the cover versions of US pop hits can be amusing. I especially enjoyed their version of "Yellow Bird" on this set.

If you like soft pop from the 50's & 60's then you may enjoy this CD. It's the kind of soft pop done by U.S. artists before the British Invasion of the mid 60's. I enjoyed this CD as well as the others on this site. One word of warning, several of the songs are repeated on more than one CD on this site.

The Peanuts Singles - Koi No Vacances (Romantic Vacation)

Translations courtesy of John Cassidy

    Disc 1

  1. Yellow Bird
  2. The Sun Is Always In My Heart
  3. Don't Look Back
  4. La Noche De Tu Partida
  5. Ballata Della Tromba
  6. Me And Me
  7. Midnight In Moscow
  8. Yessiree
  9. Where The Four Winds Blow
  10. Hand-knitted Socks
  11. Like I Do
  12. The Young Season
  13. Kouta Gion
  14. Karin's Theme
  15. Romantic Vacation
  16. The Dancing Geisha Party Song
  17. Una Sera Di Tokyo
    Disc 2

  1. Je N'Aime Que Toi
  2. Tarou-san Of The Mountain Hut
  3. Addio
  4. I Don't Wanna Play In Your Yard
  5. Una Amore Di Roma
  6. Happy Tail
  7. E' Qui
  8. Good Luck Charm
  9. Johnny Angel
  10. Two People's Plateau
  11. If I Didn't Have A Dime (To Play The Juke Box)
  12. My Heart Is So Absent Minded
  13. Fukawa Kuzushi
  14. Tombola
  15. Ciao
  16. The Dancing Geisha Party Inside Gion
  17. Facing This Way