2011 Lawrence Tuczynski

Title The Host
CD Label Milan
CD Number M2-36254
Music Composed by: Byeong Woo Lee
Number of tracks 23
Running time 60:11
Number of discs 1
Year of release/manufacture January 08, 2009
Year of movie release July 27, 2006 (South Korea)
July 24, 2007 (U.S. on DVD)


June 25, 2011

I've seen this movie on DVD and found it to be entertaining for what it was. Not a great movie but certainly not bad. I'd say it was a few cuts above a Sci-Fi Channel movie of the week but with better special effects. The music on the CD works quite well in the movie, however, as a stand alone listening experience I found it to be just OK. Most of the music on this CD is laid back, mellow and somewhat somber. There are a few action oriented pieces but they are few.

If you're a big fan of the movie you might want this CD. Otherwise I'd rate it as nice to have for completists but not a critical must have.

  1. Prologue: Mighty Han River
  2. Sudden Attack in Broad Daylight
  3. The Monster's Lair
  4. Yellow Virus
  5. Checkpoints in the Rain
  6. Hyun Suh!
  7. Starving Brothers
  8. Brother and Sister in the Sewer
  9. Most Wanted
  10. Dawn, Hard Rain and a Bloody Fight
  11. Wet Newspaper
  12. Smart Fugitive
  13. Over Wonhyo Bridge
  14. Running Lonely
  15. Unreachable Hand, Can't Let Go of the Hand
  16. Reunion
  17. A Single Molotov Cocktail
  18. A New Family
  19. In Praise of the Han River (Trumpet Version)
  20. Abandoned Song
  21. In Praise of the Han River (Vocal)
  22. Little Hut in Snow
  23. Running Lonely (Version 2)