2003 Lawrence Tuczynski

Title: Zatoichi (2003)
CD Label: Dreamusic Inc.
CD Number: MUCD-1093
Music by: Keiichi Suzuki
Number of tracks: 15
Running time: 66:34
Number of discs: 1
Year of release/manufacture: September 09, 2003


I have really enjoyed watching the older Zatoichi movies and listening to the soundtracks listed on this site from them. From what I have read so far I am looking forward to seeing this updated remake if it ever becomes available with sub titles or dubbing. That said, I was really looking forward to this CD. Upon first listening it seemed very strange sounding to me and I couldn't quite put my finger on why. I have now heard it twice and it still sounds strange. Maybe it's the mix of traditional and modern instruments and whatever else is being used in the making of the music. I was expecting something like a Hollywood blockbuster action feel to the music based on the movie reviews. Instead, for the most part, this music is pretty laid back and slow. Sure there is a smattering of action sounding cues but it's mainly pretty slow paced music. Hopefully it works better in the film than as a stand alone listening experience. That's not to say it isn't good, just not what I expected. Once you get past the strange sound and give it a listen, the music here starts to grow on you and I am sure I will like it better each time I listen to it.


  1. A Road To A Post-town
  2. Firewood-chopping And A Farmer Who Wants To Be A Samurai
  3. Ginzo's First Command
  4. The Naruto-ya Rice Merchant Massacre
  5. The Gambling House Massacre
  6. The Wasteland Massacre And The Reminisceance Of Geisha
  7. A House On Fire And Massacres All Over
  8. Constructors
  9. O-Kagura
  10. Zatoichi Showdown
  11. Festivo
  12. A Road To A Post-town - alternate mix
  13. Ginzo's First Command - alternate mix
  14. A House On Fire And Massacres All Over - alternate mix
  15. Trailer