1999 Lawrence Tuczynski

Title Japanese Cinema Music Series
Works Of Akira Ifukube
CD Label POLYSTAR /Toho Music Corporation
CD Number PSCR-5832
Music by: Akira Ifukube
Number of tracks 13
Running time 39:31
Number of discs 1
Year of release/manufacture 2000


February 19, 2000

This Akira Ifukube CD is disappointing on many levels. The date listed for this recording is 1977. I thought it was a typo but the same year is listed on the disc, tray insert and booklet. All tracks are in Mono only. Also considering the large body of work to choose from, this CD is extremely short. It clocks in at under 40 minutes.

The music itself is fine but there is nothing here we haven't heard before on other compilation discs. I can only recommend this CD to completists or someone who has no Ifukube CD's and finds this at a bargain price.

English Title: The World of Akira Ifukube: Original Soundtrack
Japanese Title: Ifukube Akira No Sekai: Orijinaru Saundotorakku

  1. Brothel No. 8
  2. Godzilla - Main Theme / Ending
  3. Rodan, The Flying Monster
  4. The Japanese Archipelago (from 1965 movie "Nihon Retto")
  5. 47 Samurai
  6. The Whale God
  7. Whistling in Kotan
    Title (Song: Berutorameri Takako)
    Main Theme
  8. Shinran
  9. King Kong vs. Godzilla
  10. The Burmese Harp
  11. The Birth of Japan
  12. The Mysterians - March
  13. Majin