2006 Lawrence Tuczynski

Title Dragonhead Original Soundtrack
CD Label TBS
CD Number TBCD-3000
Music by: Yoshihiro Ike
Number of tracks 14
Running time 53:01
Number of discs 1
Year of release/manufacture September 03, 2003


October 11, 2006

The following review is by Anthony Romero from the Toho Kingdom website at: http://www.tohokingdom.com/cd/dragonhead_tbs.htm. After listening to this soundtrack I am in complete agreement with his assessment and couldn't have said it better.

Yoshihiro Ike's score for the 2003 disaster film Dragonhead is, unfortunately, a fairly forgettable endeavor from the composer. To Ike's credit, the opening theme on this release, simply called "Dragon Head", is a brilliant piece of music and a real stand out cue for the soundtrack. Sadly, none of the other tracks even come close to matching the initial cue as most of them are very faint and even sometimes boring. There are a couple of jolts to be had in the score of course, like the start of "Shock", but these are few and far between as most of Ike's compositions feel dragged out here. To be fair, I wouldn't say the score was unpleasant, though, just as much as it doesn't work well at all removed from the context of the motion picture.
- Anthony Romero

Dragonhead Original Soundtrack

  1. Dragon Head
  2. Plague
  3. Shock
  4. Disconnection
  5. Fear
  6. Pull Through
  7. Hope - Despair
  8. Rot
  9. Madness - Sad - Blast
  10. Despair - Hope
  11. Deep Affection
  12. Determination
  13. Grieve
  14. Bravely to the End