2002 Lawrence Tuczynski

Title Ultraman Gaia Vol. 1
CD Label Yumex / Futureland
CD Number TYCY-10001
Music by: Toshihiko Sahashi
Number of tracks 26
Running time 53:42
Number of discs 1
Year of release/manufacture 12-16-1998


March 22, 2002

Even though I am not a big Ultraman fan, I very much enjoyed the music on this CD. The opening track is a pop sounding vocal that is catchy. Many of the other tracks are very good action oriented pieces that sounded to me like they would be right at home in the battle scenes of a mythology movie where the slaves are rowing hard. Some of the music also has a flavor of something you might hear in a U.S. made for TV action movie. I even heard hints of Bernard Herrmann influences in here. A few tracks reminded me of 70's pop music and there was one that reminded me somewhat of music from the movie "Superman". All in all it was a very enjoyable disc.

Ultraman Gaia Vol. 1

Track translations courtesy of Jolyon Yates

  1. Ultraman Gaia!
  2. Titles
  3. Gamu [Gamu Takayama, the hero]
  4. Roots of Destruction!?
  5. City Defence Order Issued!
  6. Launch Team Lightning!
  7. First Battle
  8. The Light is in The Servant
  9. Gaia Attack
  10. End Strategy
  11. Aerial Base
  12. Becoming a Member
  13. Esplendour [aka Esplender, the transformation device]
  14. Fujimiya & Gamu [Hiroya Fujimiya is Agul]
  15. Flying
  16. Launch XIG! [eXpanded Interceptive Guards]
  17. Preventing Attack
  18. Violent Fight
  19. Gaia Challenge
  20. Agul Advent
  21. Agul Attack
  22. Quantum Stream Reversal
  23. Gaia & Agul
  24. Return
  25. Notice of Next Time
  26. Gaia's Power