2002 Lawrence Tuczynski

Also known as: Akira Ifukube: Daiei Fantasy Films
CD Label: Futureland
CD Number: TYCY5211~5212
(reissue of LD25-5058/9)
Number of tracks: Disc 1: 35
Disc 2: 35
Running time: Disc 1: 61:05
Disc 2: 64:14
Number of discs: 2
Year of release/manufacture: 1992


March 29, 2002 - Courtesy of Robert Storch

This 2-CD set contains the complete scores to all three Majin films and is the first of four non-numbered double CD's. Unlike the Akira Ifukube Complete Recordings Volumes 1-11, which focus on his Toho SFX films, the first three non numbered volumes concentrate mainly on work for rival studios, while the fourth CD was a live performance, issued by Futureland to celebrate Ifukube's comeback to scoring Godzilla films again.

Released in 1966, the Majin series is about a massive stone sculpture which comes to life. The music by Akira Ifukube is darker, and more "mysterious" in tone then his typical sci-fi scores of the same period. The stone god Majin was portrayed in the films as relentless, invincible and unstoppable, and the music reflects this very well. The main title from the first film is a very good piece, and track #5 will be recognizable to fans as an earlier version to a Godzilla track which is on all the Akira Ifukube Godzilla soundtracks from the Heisei series. The end title to the last film is an early version to the "Kong and Susan" track from "King Kong Escapes", but which actually originated in Ifukube's classical ballet, "Salome", composed in 1948.

In my opinion, the music from the first film is the best score, perhaps a result of all three films being released in the same year and Akira Ifukube concentrating harder on his Godzilla and other Toho projects from that period. The music here is very good, but probably works better in the films then as stand alone listening. If you're looking for the rousing marches that Akira Ifukube is known for, you're better off buying his Godzilla soundtracks, although his "style" is certainly evident in these scores as well. This double CD, as well as the earlier version (LD25-5058/9, released in 1988), is extremely hard to find and may be the only source for the "complete" scores to the Majin series.


Track translations courtesy of Jolyon yates!

    Disc 1


  1. Signal
  2. Main Title
  3. Frightened Villagers
  4. Demon-scattering Dance
  5. Escape
  6. Faithful Peasant Fears
  7. Journey to the Wargod Effigy
  8. Kozasa's Song
  9. Oppressed People
  10. Sacrifice
  11. Capture of Kogenta
  12. God's Mountain
  13. God & Kozasa
  14. Trap
  15. Faithful Resolution
  16. Faithful Death
  17. Worship
  18. Kozasa's Prayer
  19. Dai Majin Appears
  20. Dai Majin's Ferocity
  21. Lord Samanosuke's Last Moments
  22. Ending
  23. American Edition Music


  24. Signal
  25. Main Title
  26. Escape to Neighboring Country
  27. Sayuri's Dance
  28. Omen
  29. Celebration of Warding Evil
  30. Warrior Funeral
  31. Prayer to the God
  32. Blowing Up the Wargod Effigy
  33. God's
  34. To Lord Juro's Island
  35. Miracle

    Disc 2

    DAI MAJIN IKARU (cont)

  1. Banquet
  2. Castle Deathmatch
  3. Death Point
  4. Juro Transfixed
  5. Execution
  6. Dai Majin is Angry
  7. Vanishing Wargod's Effigy
  8. Ending


  9. Signal
  10. Opening
  11. Sanpei's Return
  12. Tsurukichi's Determination
  13. Hell Valley
  14. Departers
  15. Demon God's Mountain
  16. Protection at the Raging Waterfall
  17. Steep Journey
  18. Falcon
  19. Wargod Effigy & Falcon
  20. Hairsbreadth Crisis
  21. To Yamagoe
  22. Rough Lodgings
  23. Huge Gamble
  24. Sugimatsu's Exploit
  25. Death of the Golden Sun
  26. Dream
  27. Snow
  28. Sleeping Demon
  29. Tsurukichi
  30. Dai Majin Appears
  31. Dai Majin goes to Hell Valley
  32. Dai Majin's Revenge I
  33. Dai Majin's Revenge II
  34. Dai Majin's Sword
  35. End Titles