2007 Lawrence Tuczynski

English Title: Ashura
Japanese Title: Ashura-j no hitomi
CD Label: Victor Entertainment, Inc.
CD Number: VICL-61582
Music by: Yoko Kanno
Number of tracks: 13
Running time: 45:31
Number of discs: 1
Year of release/manufacture: April 13, 2005
Year Movie Released in Japan: April 16, 2005


October 02, 2007

A plot summary of the film can be found at http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0459744/plotsummary.

Track 1 starts off as a vocal track that sounds like a mixture of pop and traditional Japanese music. Fairly catchy tune. Track 5 has some nice saxophone work and feels a little like slow jazz. Track 7 had a bit of Eastern, Indian, feel to it. Clocking in at a little over 45 minutes this isn't a very long soundtrack. Hopefully the music works better in the movie. I have never seen the movie but listening to this CD, while certainly not bad, it doesn't seem to do well as stand alone music that you would listen to very often. Most tracks were slow and dreamlike.

Ashura-j no hitomi

  1. Perdeski cloyn
  2. Tsukudajima Yarippanashi
  3. Iro Otoko - Natsugare Sanmai
  4. Chirimen Air
  5. Ikki Ya Kora
  6. Sakashi Mada
  7. Maku no Uchi Western
  8. Kono Oni Koroshi
  9. Koi Naki yo Neko Tenshou Tan
  10. Keren te Keren
  11. Blues In My Heaven
  12. Are Hanamichi
  13. Haraiso, Haraiso