© 2019 Lawrence Tuczynski

Title Godzilla: King of the Monsters (OST)
CD Label WaterTower Music
CD Number WTM40265
Music Composed & Conducted by: Bear McCreary
Number of tracks Disc 1 - 17
Disc 2 - 9
Running time Disc 1 - 66:22
Disc 2 - 31:11
Number of discs 2
Year of release/manufacture May 24, 2019
Movie Release (U.S.) May 31, 2019


June 08, 2019

I just received this CD yesterday and listened to it once so these are my first impressions. I also saw the movie when it opened on May 31, 2019. While the 2014 movie was so much better than that lousy 1998 GINO movie I didn't care for the Muto monsters Godzilla fought. This time they do a much better job by adding in updated versions of Rodan, Mothra and Ghidorah. I enjoyed it and am looking forward to the 2020 release of Godzilla vs. King Kong from this company.

The music is very good with several action pieces and seems fitting to the type of movie it was written for. Most of Bear McCreary's music for this film is very good. I especially like that he incorporated a lot of Akira Ifukube's music from the early Japanese Godzilla movies. He also does an updated version of "Mothra's Song" without vocals. There is even an updated version of Blue Oyster Cult's "Godzilla" song on disc 2. There are quite a few nice homage's to the Japanese films and Ifukube both here in the soundtrack and in the movie itself if you know what you are looking at. I bought this at Amazon.com for the great price of $12.99 and you can get the digital MP3 version even cheaper. A real bargain for a 2 CD set.

Godzilla: King of the Monsters (OST) [WTM40265]

    Disc 1
  1. Memories of San Francisco
  2. The Larva
  3. Welcome To Monarch
  4. Outpost 32
  5. Ice Breaker
  6. Rise Of Ghidorah
  7. Old Rivals
  8. The First Gods
  9. Rodan
  10. A Mass Awakening
  11. The One Who Is Many
  12. Queen of the Monsters
  13. For Andrew
  14. Stealing The Orca
  15. The Hollow Earth
  16. The Key To Coexistence
  17. Goodbye Old Friend
    Disc 2
  1. Rebirth
  2. Fog Over Fenway
  3. Battle in Boston
  4. Redemption
  5. King of the Monsters
  6. Godzilla (feat. SERJ TANKIAN)
  7. Mothra's Song
  8. Ghidorah's Theme
  9. Godzilla Main Title