2000 Lawrence Tuczynski

Title The Peanuts, The Definitive Edition
CD Label King Record Co., Ltd.
CD Number KICX 2443
Music by: The Peanuts (Emi & Yumi Ito)
Number of tracks 20
Running time 62:03
Number of discs 1
Year of release/manufacture 10/23/1998


Feb 4, 2000

This CD is IDENTICAL to the CD's The Best Song Collection, # KICX-2921 released in 11/06/2003, The Peanuts Best, # KICX-2731 released 12/02/2001 and The Peanuts Best, # KICX-2552 released 12/23/1999 also on this site. The only thing that is different is the packaging. For some strange reason it seems this disc is getting repackaged and rereleased every few years. Maybe because the previous recordings go out of print quickly.

This CD is not for everyone and some would question why I even include it here. There are NO Godzilla, Mothra or other kaiju related songs on this CD. The reason I have it here is that the singers, Emi & Yumi Ito, known as The Peanuts, are the same twins that appeared in all the early Mothra related films as the twin fairy's also known as Shobijin. In the Mothra films you either loved or hated their singing. I'm one of those that enjoyed the simple, pleasant, harmonies of the Mothra songs they sang.

Born on April 1, 1941 in Aichi prefecture, Emi Ito (Birth name Hideyo Ito) and her twin sister Yumi Ito (Birth name Tsukiko Ito) were known as the popular singing duo The Peanuts. They were discovered by Watanabe Pro founder Sho Watanabe when he first saw them performing at a club in Nagoya as the Ito Sisters, and in 1958 brought them to Tokyo, where they were dubbed The Peanuts. Their records were very popular in Japan during the 1950's & 1960's. I've been told they even appeared here in the U.S. on "The Ed Sullivan Show". They also appeared in several films including several Mothra and Godzilla films. The duo retired from performing 4 April 1975.

So how does the CD sound? If you like soft pop from the 50's & 60's then you may enjoy this CD. It's the kind of soft pop done by U.S. artists before the British Invasion of the mid 60's. Of course it's all in Japanese but the tunes are still enjoyable. I like the voices and harmonies these girls put out. I enjoyed the CD and am still looking for some of their other recordings.

English Title: The Peanuts, The Definitive Edition
Japanese Title: Za Pinattsu Ketteiban

  1. Love Vacation
  2. Love Fugue
  3. Ophelia in Love
  4. Season of Youth
  5. Passion Flower (1967 edition)
  6. After the Ring
  7. Petite Fleur (1967 edition)
  8. Don't Look Back
  9. Hand-knit Socks
  10. A Light in the Window of Your Heart (stereo re-recording)
  11. The Rain in Rome (1968 edition)
  12. Osaka Girl
  13. Good-byes Take Us by Surprise
  14. Troubling Rumors
  15. It's Over, Dear
  16. San Francisco Girl
  17. Desert of Passion
  18. Una Sera Di Tokyo
  19. Love's Finale
  20. Tokyo Girl