© 2003 Lawrence Tuczynski

Title Akira Ifukube Tribute Concert
CD Label Futureland
CD Number LD32-5077
Music by: Akira Ifukube
Number of tracks 18
Running time 62:03
Number of discs 1
Year of release/manufacture June 24,1989


February 11, 2003 Courtesy of Sam Scali

Akira Ifukube Tribute Concert (LD32-5077) - recorded 2/27/88

This rare Futureland release, like 1992's "World of Akira Ifukube" (TYCY-5217~18), features a nine-part musical tribute hosted by various conductors, as well as full renditions of three of Mr. Ifukube's own classical works. It is a well-recorded, spirited performance, though not essential since most of the material has turned up on other CDs. Still, it is a very hard-to-find release and well worth buying if you can find it for a reasonable price.

Ifukube Akira Appreciation

Translations courtesy of Jolyon Yates

  1. Harada Hajime 'I Felicidades El Maestro'
  2. Ishii Maki 'Phantasmal Music'
  3. Manabe Riichiro 'Omaggio al Maestro Ifukube'
  4. Imai Shigeyuki 'Mad Transformation'
  5. Matsumura Yoshimi 'Homage to Akira Ifukube'
  6. Miki Minoru 'Godzilla is Dancing'
  7. Akutugawa Yasushi 'Ballad on the theme of Godzilla'
  8. Ikeno Shigeru 'Omaggio a Maestro A Ifukube'
  9. Kaoru Toshio 'Hommage a A Ifukube'
  10. Sonata for Violin & Piano (1985)
    Composed by Ifukube Akira, Violin Kobayashi Takeshi, Piano Umemura Yuko

  11. 1st Movement~ Allegro
  12. 2nd Movement~ Andante - Cantelena
  13. 3rd Movement~ Allegro Vivace
  14. Dialogue on a Pastoral Ainu Song Poem (1956)

  15. That Ancient Song
  16. Song of the Death Island of the North Sea
  17. Dance Song of the Mother-in-law and Yamanba
  18. Local Customs Triptych for the Interior Orchestra (1937)
    Composed by Ifukube Akira, Performed by (literally translated) New Star Sun Interior Orchestra, Piano Shimura Izumi, Conductor Ishii Maki

  19. Home Province Woman
  20. Teimube
  21. Bakkai

17 & 18 sound like Ainu

February 27 1988 (Saturday) Suntory Hall