© 2003 Lawrence Tuczynski

Title: Violin Sonata
CD Label: Mittenwald
CD Number: MTWD-99009
Music by: Akira Ifukube
Number of tracks: 12
Running time: 66:00
Number of discs: 1
Year of release/manufacture: 2002


July 03, 2003

The first three tracks on this CD also appear on "Bintatara - Selected Works Of Akira Ifukube A New Aspect Of Japanese Contemporary Music #15" also on this site and Disc 1 of Akira Ifukube Chamber Music on this site as well.

This is a good classical sounding CD. The Violin Sonata is very good and I think it's very interesting to hear 4 of the tracks (4-7) done twice. The first time done with strings and the second time (tracks 8-11) done on the piano.

Violin Sonata

    Violin Sonata (1985)

  1. I. Allegro
  2. II. Andante-Cantilena
  3. III.Allegro Vivace
  4. Japanese Suite for String Orchestra (1998)

  5. I. BON-ODORI, Nocturnal Dance of the Bon-Festival
  6. II. TANA-BATA, Fete of Vega
  7. III. NAGASHI, Profane Minstrel
  8. IV. NEBUTA, Festival Ballad
  9. Piano Suite (1933)

  10. I. BON-ODORI, Nocturnal Dance of the Bon-Festival
  11. II. TANA-BATA, Fete of Vega
  12. III. NAGASHI, Profane Minstrel
  13. IV. NEBUTA, Festival Ballad
  14. ?