2007 Lawrence Tuczynski

Title: The Monster Project
CD Label: N/A
CD Number: N/A
Music by: The Monster Project
Number of tracks: 21
Running time: 65:27
Number of discs: 1
Year of release/manufacture: March 2007


April 01, 2007

The Monster Project is an independant project not released by a major record label which is why there is no company or catalog number listed above. More information about the band can be found at: http://www.themonsterproject.com and the disc can be ordered at http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/monsterproj.

The Monster Project is:
Adam Alexander - founder/arranger/bass
Jeff Aldrich - guitar
Christopher Carroll - percussion/sound fx
John Celentano - drums
Eric Hertenstein - keyboards
Kelly Pratt - trumpet/flugelhorn

This band is an evolutionary offshoot of the New York City progressive art-rock collective with influences ranging from Black Sabbath to Bernard Herrmann, the Project presents creative but faithful rock arrangements of classic monster movie scores. The CD is mostly made up of Akira Ifukube pieces from various Godzilla movies from 1954 to 1975. This CD is the full length followup to the 2005 CD of the same name also found on this site at The Monster Project. I found the music to be very well done and very professional. While it won't make you forget the original scores it certainly ranks high as keeping true to the music and is much better than other CD's I've heard by other artists who redo or reinterpret the music. I highly recommend this CD to any fan of the genre.

Tracks 1-17 were recorded February 18, 2005 and tracks 18-26 were recorded July 16, 2006.

The Monster Project

  1. Kaiju Daisenso: Godzilla Approaches
  2. Kaiju Daisenso: Godzilla Comes Ashore
  3. Kaiju Daisenso: Main Title
  4. Kaiju Daisenso: Horror in the Water Tank
  5. Kaiju Daisenso: Godzilla to Tokyo Bay
  6. Kaiju Daisenso: Godzilla vs. Mothra
  7. Kaiju Daisenso: King Kong vs. Godzilla
  8. Kaiju Daisenso: Two Monsters Appear in Yokohama
  9. Kaiju Daisenso: Namikawa on Planet X
  10. Kaiju Daisenso: The Monsters of Earth Gather
  11. Kaiju Daisenso: Birth of Ghidorah
  12. Kaiju Daisenso: Battle on Mt. Fuji
  13. Kaiju Daisenso: Dr. Mafune's Past
  14. Kaiju Daisenso: Terror of Mechagodzilla
  15. Kaiju Daisenso: Ending
  16. Swan Lake (Act II Scene X)
  17. The Slasher Suite
  18. Godzilla vs. the Smong Monster: Opening
  19. Godzilla vs. the Smong Monster: Investigation at the Bottom of the Sea
  20. Godzilla vs. the Smong Monster: Godzilla and the Polluted Ocean
  21. Godzilla vs. the Smong Monster: Multiplying
  22. Godzilla vs. the Smong Monster: Fragments
  23. Godzilla vs. the Smong Monster: Sulfuric Acid Mist / Smokestacks
  24. Godzilla vs. the Smong Monster: Ending
  25. Land of the Lost: Medley
  26. Land of the Lost: Closing Theme