2006 Lawrence Tuczynski

Title: HEROIC LEGEND - Bukimisha Tribute To Akira Ifukube
CD Label: BKM
CD Number: G.R.F.019
Music by: Akira Ifukube & Makoto Inoue
Music Performed by: Bukimisha Weird Secret Society
Takeo Yahiro & Friends
Monster Sound Effects performed by: David Hirsch, Sam Scali, Robert Storch & Larry Tuczynski
Number of tracks: 14
Running time: 73:48
Number of discs: 1
Year of release/manufacture: August 11,2006


October 04, 2006

In the past few years, the Japanese vocal group Bukimisha has recorded an impressive body of unique a cappella interpretations. This particular CD focuses on paying tribute to Akira Ifukube. As usual the Bukimisha Weird Secret Society has worked their magic on these tracks and they sound terrific. The 14 listed tracks (there are actually 29) appear to be remixes of Ifukube tracks from some of their previous discs and sound new because of the remixing and additions.

As with previous CDs in the series, if still in print, this disc can be ordered directly from the artists. Visit their English webpage at: http://www.bukimi.com/maal/hanpu_english.html , or email Takeo Yahiro (yah@bukimi.com) for more information.

Additional review courtesy of Sam Scali - July 12, 2007

This delightful CD is based on the trio of classic "Godzilla Legend" LPs recorded by synthesizer virtuoso Makoto Inoue in 1983-84, and reissued on CD as GODZILLA LEGEND CHRONOLOGY 1 and CHRONOLOGY 2 (1986) and the GODZILLA LEGEND boxed set (1991).

The disc features lively Bukimisha vocalizations of many of the themes used in the "Legend" series, but rather than recording new versions of these themes, the group utilizes remixes of previous efforts. As a result, the CD also serves as a kind of "greatest hits" collection of their earlier Ifukube performances. In addition, the amusing monster roars from GOUKAI Na Godzilla & Jet Jaguar Punch-Punch-Punch! (performed by a quartet of hapless Americans, no less) make a return appearance on several tracks, particularly Track 6, the "Destroy All Monsters March".

The CD itself is attractively packaged in an unusual plastic snap-case, accompanied by a thick, perfect-bound booklet that is filled with Japanese text, as well as some entertaining photos and even a comic strip. The cover art is a nifty parody of the original "Godzilla Legend" LP art, with the fearsome image of a giant Dr. Bukimi reflected on the side of a skyscraper instead of Godzilla. Fittingly, famous kaiju artist Yuji Kaida, who was also responsible for the original "Legend" artwork as well as many of Bukimisha's past CD covers, contributed the illustration.

Once again, Bukimisha deliver a fun-filled, irreverent collection that captures the true spirit of Maestro Ifukube's music. Get it while you can!

Naturally Yuji Kaida-sensei covers

English translated titles courtesy of Jolyon Yates

  1. Heroic Godzilla Theme Legend
  2. Heroic Giant Majin [Devilgod] Legend
  3. Heroic Godzilla 'Tai' ['Versus'] Series Legend
  4. Heroic King Ghidora Appears! Legend
  5. Heroic Earth Monsters United Army Legend
  6. Heroic Monsters Total Charge March Legend
  7. Heroic Dr Liesendorf's [FRANKENSTEIN CONQUERS THE WORLD] -
    Yamane [the doctor in GOJIRA] Heartbeat Legend
  8. Heroic Heaven's Great Science War Legend
  9. Heroic Sacred Mu Empire Downfall Song Legend
  10. Heroic Earth Defence Force Legend
  11. Heroic Godzilla Charge Legend
  12. Heroic Maha Mosura Legend
  13. Heroic Prayer of Peace Legend
  14. Heroic Voyage & Dream Quest Legend
  15. Plus Bonus tracks not listed